A lot to crow about…

Previous Post

Billy Graham Library

The last few months have seen Faith, Hope and Love online RWA ® chapter members (and former members) achieve admirable semifinal results in many contests for inspirational authors.

The chapter is very proud of the talent and perseverance of (and recognition extended towards) each author entering publishing industry contests.

First up is the grand-daddy (grand-mammy?) of them all – achieving semifinal status for the 2016 RITA® Award given by Romance Writers of America® (RWA®) – our national organization* –  here showing the inspirational category specifically.  The RITA® Represents the highest award of distinction in romance fiction — and recognizes excellence in published romance novels and novellas.

*”RITA, the RITA Statuette design, RITA WINNER, RITA FINALIST, the RITA WINNER and RITA FINALIST Medallion designs, RWA, and ROMANCE WRITERS OF AMERICA, GOLDEN HEART, are trademarks/service marks, registered trademarks/service marks, and/or copyrighted works of Romance Writers of America, Inc.”

Best First Book

  • A Noble Masquerade by Kristi Ann Hunter
    Baker Publishing Group, Bethany House
    Raela Schoenherr, editor

Inspirational Romance

  • A Love Like Ours by Becky Wade
    Baker Publishing Group, Bethany House
    Charlene Patterson and Raela Schoenherr, editors
  • Mistletoe Justice by Carol J. Post
    Harlequin, Love Inspired Suspense
    Rachel Burkot, editor
  • The Mountain Midwife by Laurie Alice Eakes
    HarperCollins, Zondervan
    Becky Phillpot, editor
  • A Noble Masquerade by Kristi Ann Hunter
    Baker Publishing Group, Bethany House
    Raela Schoenherr, editor
  • The Rescued by Marta Perry
    Penguin Random House, Berkley
    Ellen Edwards, editor

Romance Novella

  • Toward the Sunrise by Elizabeth Camden
    Baker Publishing Group, Bethany House
    Raela Schoenherr, editor

Romance Writers of America® also recognizes quality in unpublished manuscripts through The Golden Heart® Award.

Congratulations to the 2016 Golden Heart® Inspirational category  finalists:

  • “For the Love of Termites” by Kimberly MacCarron
  • “One More Breath” by Pamela Kopfler

The 2016 winners will be announced at a black-tie awards ceremony on July 16 at the 2016 RWA Annual Conference in San Diego, California.


Speaking of the 2016 Annual Conference: Save the Date! FHL’s Annual General Meeting (open to the public, free, even to non-conference attendees) will take place during the RWA conference on Wednesday July 13th from 1-4 p.m. We’ll have refreshments, praise & worship, 2nd annual inspirational editor and agent panel, and final results of FHL’s Touched By Love Award and Inspirational Reader’s Choice Award.  While the exact room is TBD, the AGM meeting will be in a conference room on the SanDiego Marriott Marquis & Marina property. We will announce the room assignment closer to July 13.

Two FHL members also semifinaled in the American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW)’s coveted Genesis Award contest for 2016.


Many congratulations to Martha Hutchens (Historical Romance) and Jeanne M. Dickson (Romance). Genesis finalists will be announced on June 15th. Winners will be awarded during ACFW’s annual conference gala on August 27 in Nashville.

Most recently, we saw current and former FHL authors place in the Virginia Romance Writers Holt Medallion Award.


Short Inspirational
Dangerous Tidings – Dana Mentink
Person of Interest – Debby Giusti
Safe in the Fireman’s Arms – Tina Radcliffe
The Doctor’s Second Chance – Missy Tippens
When Love Leads You Home – Carla Rossi & Jami Crumpton
Long Inspirational
A Worthy Pursuit – Karen Witemeyer
Another Way Home – Deborah Raney
Falling Like Snowflakes – Denise Hunter
Red Is For Rookie – Anne Greene
Two Roads Home – Deborah Raney

Winners will be announced June 11, 2016.


Lastly, one of our long time members, Lenora Worth, received Romantic Times’ Pioneers of Romance Fiction award in the inspirational category at the RT convention in Las Vegas on April 20, 2016. 

Apologies to any recent awards, contest winners or finalists not listed here.

Join us in celebrating all this good news, and may God bless each of our writing projects in the coming months as final results are announced.

Philippians 1:6, “being confident of this, that he who began a good work in you will carry it on to completion until the day of Christ Jesus.” (NIV)


Previous Post


  1. Wonderful news. Congratulations to all those “winners” of recognition!

  2. Congrats to all the writers mentioned in this post! We have quite the achieving group, which I’m happy to be a part of.

  3. What a talented group of writers! Congratulations to everyone!

  4. julielessman says:

    Sooooooo impressed with our authors!!! 🙂

  5. Missy Tippens says:

    It’s great to be a part of FHL! Congratulations to all!

  6. Congratulations to these talented authors! Makes me proud to be a FHL member.

  7. Congratulations to the other finalists. So happy to be included in such an inspiring group!

  8. Wow! We have so much talent in our group. Congratulations to all of the award winners listed here.

    Yvonne Weers
    Aka Renee McBride

  9. Congratulations to all of you. Wonderful news.
    Lorraine H

Leave a Reply